Shit Expat Men Say

After doing the “Shit Expat Women Say” video, it’s only natural that we would want to follow it up with the “Shit Expat Men Say”.  The first one stirred a bit of a controversy among some, so I am very curious to see the reactions to this one.

Thoughts?  Comments? Things we missed?

To benefit from the collection of tools, ideas and exercises based on experiences of expats from around the world, get your FREE “A to Z of Successful Expatriation™” workbook by signing up for our Expat VIP list here.

And for those of you who work with expats, the next licensing/certification webinar for the Culture Mastery 4 C’s Process™ is coming up in March 2012.  Sign up now HERE and save — and get two languages at a price of one!

8 responses to “Shit Expat Men Say

  1. Listened to it several times and I have no clue what the guy keeps saying – it sounds like “you really should down more” but I think that’s an incorrect interpretation based on my misunderstanding of his accent in English (and yes, I am a native English speaker.)

    This and the expat women post have great potential – and I agree with the comments from the prior post – there’s a lot of things that smart, intelligent, working women say that one can shake their heads at.

    Another twist for a future post might include S*** people say to expats… for example, (this is getting more rare thank goodness), when people in FL (where I now live) find out that I grew up in Canada, they ask me if I went to French school and whether we had dogsleds to get there. I know that the questions asked of western expats in Asia or other places must be hilarious at times. What do your readers think?

    Thanks for running the site!
    Carol

    • GlobalCoachCenter

      Thanks, Carol, for your comment! Yes, the accent is a bit tough to understand… the statement you are referring to is:

      “You should really get out more.”

      Love your idea about “Shit people say to expats” — it’d have to be country-specific, won’t it?

      • Thanks for the speedy response!

        Actually, I don’t think the s*** people say to expats has to be too country specific – some of it might be, but other comments wouldn’t be.

        Perhaps you can run a contest to find out what are the most bizarre things people have asked others based on assumptions about their home country (and ask people to respond with both where they are from and where they are now living).

        This could result in a post that has a list like:
        ‘Oh you’re from England – how well do you know the Queen?’ (asked by people in…)
        ‘Oh you’re from Washington – have you met the president?’ (especially when the questioner doesn’t realize there’s a difference between Washington State and Washington DC)
        ‘Are there cities in Canada? It’s so cold there that I didn’t think there would be enough people for a city.’

        When I was in Japan, I was called (and this was flattering to me!) American “eye-candy” because I have big eyes. It is a fond memory from technical professionals (I was teaching software specific courses there.) It was an “interesting” thing to say to me.

        What do you think?

      • GlobalCoachCenter

        You read my mind, Carol! I was going to throw this question out to the FB page members… Let’s see what develops out of that!

  2. Although I used the s-word with some regularity in my personal life, I still flinch when I see it spelled out on the internet. I think just the hint of “propriety” with using the asterisk (sh*t) is much more inclusive/less offensive to the 50+ generation. FWIW.

    • GlobalCoachCenter

      I know what you mean, Alan.🙂 But the SEO is definitely “friendlier” to the spelled out word than to the one with the asterisk. It’s the SEO age, isn’t it!

  3. Good video, but I agree with Carol on some points here. I felt the protagonist was speaking to a live-in girlfriend who had just moved to his home country. The accent I thought was fine, British? Any true expat will know and find different accents around the world, but it is up to us too open our ears and listen. I think this would be better if country names were thrown into the mix. There was really nothing here that resonated with me about being an expat. I appreciate your efforts, this is something I could have never done! Ill check out the question on your FB page. As for SEO, you’re dead on right! Work it.🙂

    • GlobalCoachCenter

      Thanks, Jennifer! I must admit, I like the women video a lot more and that’s probably because I can relate to those statements a lot more (made them, heard them, experienced them!). With men — I basically thought of what I heard expat men in my surroundings say and those were mainly expats brought into the country by companies, tasked with managing local staff, and accompanied by families. So it’s a bit one-sided but hey, aren’t all of the “sh*t” videos a bit one-sided?!🙂

Leave a Reply

