Expat lifestyle or how to de-clutter in a most effective way

At a recent coaching summit one of the keynote speakers – Lynne Twist (whose book, The Soul of Money, I recommend highly) spoke about one of the most destructive and yet most spread myths of the modern world: more is better.  We are encouraged to consume more to “help” the economy, we are constantly sold things we don’t need through very clever advertising campaigns, and we are doped into believing that the more we have of anything the happier we will be.  Meanwhile, the constant race for more creates stress, frustration, and feelings of never being able to catch up – while depleting precious natural resources.

In the course of her talk, Lynne Twist mentioned that the storage industry is one of the fastest growing industries in the United States and the fact that we are building houses for our stuff makes absolutely no sense when there are so many homeless people.  This got me thinking that as expatriates, we are actually lucky because we get to go through our stuff every few years when we move and we get to de-clutter on a regular basis.

Of course one of the hardest things about organizing a move (apart from saying good-byes…) is deciding what to take and what to discard.  Those decisions not only take time, but also force us to say yes to some memories and no to others.

So how do you decide which memento of the past still deserves a place in your life and which doesn’t?  How do you decide which one of your possessions to donate?  And what is the ultimate test that helps you determine what will stay?

I have a system.  It may or may not work for you, but I found that it works wonders for me.  When I begin the moving process I ask myself the following questions about those things that I consider keeping:

•    What is the energy behind this thing?  What feeling do I get from it?
•    What does it represent to me now?
•    How important is it to me now?
•    How important is it to my future path?

Many objects that we hold on to may represent who we were long ago and not who we are now. Some may come from times that have been difficult and resonate with memories of sadness; others may have been symbolic to us in the past, but no longer carry the same meaning. Why hold on to them then? Why drain yourself and your house of energy with clutter that is not useful for who you are becoming?

When people, who have not experienced expatriate lifestyles, say to me how difficult it must be to move every few years, I usually respond that it’s a blessing and an opportunity.  It allows me to part with the old and invite the new into my life.  And I find that very inspirational.

The things that don’t make it on the moving list find their next owner in 99% of the cases.  Internet has allowed us to connect with people who may want and need the stuff you have – so before you add to the ever-growing trash pile out there, consider tapping into those resources!

Speaking of resources… Global Coach Center has recently started a resource of its own — an International Directory of Expat Coacheslisted by country. We started it because we get a lot of requests from people looking for a coach in a country where they are living.  So if you are in need of a coach, please visit it.  And if you are an expat coach, list yourself!

People who read this post also enjoyed:

How green is your move?

Expat Coach — where art thou?

Third Culture Kids — what’s in the programming?

Copyright © 2011 by Global Coach Center.  If you’d like to reprint this, please do so but make sure you credit us (with a live link)!

5 responses to “Expat lifestyle or how to de-clutter in a most effective way

  1. A very inspiring letter. I ve often drawn similar conclusions. Moving globally has been a cleansing process, making severe lists of needed personal effects and donating the rest. As I have been settled in one place for a dozen years now, I ve followed some similar process, moving not across borders but across streets and downsizing all the same (somewhat typical of a TCK). I ve found new homes for my extensive collections of crafts: donation to friends finds them a new home where they can be appreciated and I can visit them. That’s allowed for downsizing aplenty. And I ve kept digital pictures, thereby keeping the memory without need for the space.
    I ve also discarded boxes and boxes of pictures by making collages of pictures taken in each country my family lived in. They are easy to see and good reminders of friendships, faraway places and memories.

  2. How true. I’m in super-decluttered mode after a divorce AND a big move within 2 years, and it has been liberating! I don’t miss anything at all, except for one particular childhood memento. The rest of it, I’m better off without.

  3. I’ve just gone through this exercise, specifically regarding decades of family photos. Next to sorting through my book collection, this has been my most difficult soon-to-be-expat task.

    I’ve found a solution that works for our family, but it took a long time!

Leave a Reply

